top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt

Take Cover

My bespoke cover system has been implemented almost entirely at this point, with minor quality of life changes being added all the time.


Below are some tweets I made showing the basic movement of the cover system:

along with a more focused look at the animation behaviours specifically regarding moving into low cover:

I made the decision to use free-to-use third party visual aspects (such as models and animations) for this project to give me time to create the actual mechanics and features present in the final product, and also because I am most definitely not very talented in these areas...


The basic movement controller is done using the help of the Invector 3rd Person asset pack on the Unity Store, which also includes a feature that allows for the fbx model of the character to be replaced as I have done here, where the only animations I haven't implemented myself are for walking, running and jumping. The entire cover system substate machine and crouching animations are all applied by me. The animations themselves come from Adobe's Mixamo site, as does the character model.


This coming week I shall be working on adding detection-based AI present in most stealth games using technologies I have researched in a paper I wrote that you can view here.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page